To Be

I want to be good
Just enough to get by
Without any notice from you

I want to be simple
Not quite so abstract
That you keeping coming back

I want to be dull
Something borrowed and scratched
That you’ll throw in the trash

I want to be ugly
Someone no one would want
And whose thoughts would constantly taunt

But you won’t let me
You make me better than most
And you laugh at my jokes
You stand up and clap when everyone’s comatose

You say I’m a mystery
And that I’m hard to read
That sometimes you can’t tell
If it’s you that I need

You say that you love me
That I’m all that you see
And that you’ll wait for me
Until I figure out what I want to be

I want to be yours

11 thoughts on “To Be

  1. Pingback: Til Death Do We Part – A Haunting Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: A REGRETFUL SILENCE – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords

  3. Pingback: Romantic Monday « H.E. ELLIS

  4. Pingback: Saturday Poetry Sampler #3 – Huge Talent « Lyrical Anarchy

  5. Pingback: I’M SORRY TOO – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords

Leave a Reply

